The 45th Annual International Trumpet Guild Conference

6.01.21 – 6.05.21

Tierra Nueva

Recital: Música del nuevo folclor costarricense con Alexis Morales y José Sibaja

Tierra Nueva was formed by seven friends in 2004; they wanted to give Costa Rican folk music a new and fresh style. In order to create this new style, the group members used rhythmic fusion as their principal tool, so they use genres such as: ballad, Cuban son, salsa, bomba, rock and so on. They previous music genres were combined with some of the traditional rhythms of Costa Rica such as: pasillo, danza, contradanza, and parrandera. The band’s official debut was on the 34th edition of the “Semana Cultural de Santa Cruz” in 2015. The fact of have debuted in the most important and ancient cultural festival of Costa Rica permitted the band to gain ground on the stages in Guanacaste. Tierra Nueva is, in terms of folk and traditional music, considered the revelation group of the region; that perception has allowed the consolidation of Tierra Nueva in the most important stages and festival in Guanacaste such as: Emilia Prieto Festival, Cultural Concerts in the Typical National Holidays of Santa Cruz, El Gustico Festival, GuanacasteArte Festival, and Taste of Guanacaste Music Festival. After six years of its creation, Tierra Nueva has released one album named “Canta Guanacaste”, and a second album is in process; furthermore, the band has released a DVD named “Tierra Nueva desde El Corral” in 2020. Tierra Nueva’s music is now available in more than 32 streaming platform such as: YouTube, Spotify, Deezer, Amazon, YouTube Music, Apple Music, iTunes, and so on. 

The band members are: 

Jorge Cerna: Principal Voice 
Francisco Vázquez: Guitar 
Yennier Zúñiga: Marimba 
Daniel Rosales: Alto Saxophone 
Breiner Acevedo: Percussion 
Steven Molina: Drums 
Anthony Barrantes: Conga drums 
Randy Juárez: Electric Bass 
Diego Grijalba: Keyboards 




Pin It on Pinterest

Share This