Noa Miller

The 48th Annual International Trumpet Guild Conference
Anaheim, CA

Noa Miller

Warm-Up Session: How to Design a Fundamental Routine

Israeli-born trumpeter, Dr. Noa Miller is the newly appointed Assistant Professor of Music at Benedict College where she teaches applied brass and music theory. In addition, she is the second trumpeter with the Aiken Symphony Orchestra, the principal trumpeter of the Aiken Civic Orchestra, and she frequently performs with the Augusta Symphony and the South Carolina Philharmonic. She is also a founding member of the Category V Brass as well as a core member of the Aiken Symphony Brass Quintet. Prior to her position at Benedict College, Dr. Miller held faculty positions at York Technical College, Columbia College, and the University of South Carolina.

In 2017 Dr. Miller won first place at the International Women Brass Conference Susan Slaughter Solo Trumpet Competition (Category I – 24 and younger) and in 2022 she won third place at the same competition (Category II- 25 and older) and third place in the Marie Speziale Orchestra Mock Competition. She has also been previously a semi-finalist in the Graduate Solo and the Ensemble Divisions at the National Trumpet Competition, and a finalist for the University of South Carolina Solo-Aria competition.

Dr. Miller has presented papers at the 2022 North American Baroque Trumpet Conference and Competition in Lexington, Kentucky, and the 2022 Early Brass Festival in Northfield, Minnesota based on her dissertation, “The Apprenticeship Structure and the Applied Pedagogical Methods of the Holy Roman Empire Imperial Trumpeters’ Guild During the 17th and 18th Centuries” which is available on ProQuest and Scholar Commons.

Noa Miller earned her Doctor of Musical Arts degree in Trumpet Performance and a minor in Music History from the University of South Carolina. She received her Master’s degree in Trumpet Performance from the University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music and her Bachelor’s of Music in Trumpet Performance from Ohio University. Her primary teachers include James Ackley, Alan Siebert, Phil Collins, John Schlabach, and Joyce Johnson-Hamilton.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This